Create a Shared YouTube Channel

Although individuals can have a channel where content is posted, another way of collaborating is through a Brand Account. With multiple owners, there is no need for a separate username or password.

1. CREATE A NEW CHANNEL: Go to overview in the settings and create a new channel (YouTube Settings > Overview > Create a New Channel). As with any channel, there is a requirement to verify the account.

2. ADD USERS: The difference between a brand account and a personal account is that multiple users can be added to a brand account. To add users, go to Add and Remove Managers (YouTube Settings > Overview > Add and Remove Managers).

This takes users to the page where they are able to adjust the information attached to the account.

3. SETTING PERMISSIONS: There are three roles associated with users attached to a brand account. Owners control all aspects of the channel, while managers can add videos. Communication managers have no privileges associated with YouTube. This is a role associated with other platforms, such as Google+.

NOTE: The other way of setting up a brand account is by transferring the content associated to an existing Google Account. To do this, users go to YouTube Settings.

In the settings, choose to Move channel to Brand Account.

Users are then required to select the Brand Account they would like the content transferred to.

This can be useful if starting from scratch or wanting to transfer ownership.

The following two tabs change content below.

Aaron Davis

Teacher. Former Lead-user with the Ultranet. Interested in 21CL, ICT, Literacy and History. Actually, interested in all learning, starting with my own.

Latest posts by Aaron Davis (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *